Affordable vs. High-End Beauty — Does It Matter?

One of the many things that amazes me about the beauty world is the extravagant variety of products there are on the market. From products priced in the hundreds, all the way down to $5/$10 products, how can you know which are best? We are constantly getting ads thrown at us from Instagram to television commercials, claiming that certain products can solve all our problems. It can be super confusing! Does more expensive really mean better? Are certain products all about the hype? Well I hope your lashes are glued on tight because I’m about to let you in on a little secret…in most instances, when you purchase an expensive product- you are likely paying for marketing! That’s right. A $20 cream can work just as well as a $100 one. Now, this is not ALWAYS the case and it definitely varies by instance, but it is important to know how to decipher excellent marketing from a genuinely good product. Don’t worry, I’ve got you covered.

photo courtesy of stylecaster.com
Here is a list of 5 things to consider when picking a product: 
  1. Desired results: The important thing to consider when purchasing cosmetics or skincare is what you actually WANT the product to do! If the cheaper product is offering what you need, then why not try it before dropping big bucks? There are PLENTY of hidden gems on the market.
  2. Check the reviews: Time and time again you’ll hear about a product over and over..buy it..try it…and then *sigh*….it is completely OVERHYPED. No shade intended (*cough cough..the Drunk Elephant Slaai Makeup Melting Butter Cleanser*). A great way to prevent this is by taking the time to look at the reviews on multiple sights. I always check Ulta, Sephora, AND the company’s website to check reviews. Most of the time I see or hear about a product and desperately want to like it- whether it is because of the pretty packaging or genius marketing- but unfortunately it isn’t always worth the hype. I always imagine my experience with a product will be different then the 200 people saying it’s not worth the money, and that sometimes can be the case, but it usually is not. Since I have started paying attention to reviews, I am spending A LOT less on products that sit on my counter (while I stare at them in shame everyday wishing they would morph into a great product)…because they are too expensive to throw away, but not worth using. *Insert the post-purchase guilt*
  3. Consider the ingredients: “As Dr. Charlotte Birnbaum of Spring Street Dermatology in New York City explains, though, it’s not always the most expensive products that are the most scientifically proven to be effective—even if they contain “rarer” ingredients.” Before purchasing a product look at the ingredients, especially the active ones! Compare cheaper dupes to high end product and see if there is a huge difference. Usually, the less expensive products have very similar ingredients to high end skin products but have less concentration or potency. The best ingredient should always be at the top of the ingredient label. 
  4. Are you paying for the packaging? Campaigns, pretty packaging, catchy names, bright colors, and influence from celebrities plays a huge role in the products that we assume are amazing, without even trying them. Think about it. If I say “Dior makeup,” whether or not you have actually tried their products, you will assume they are good because of the name. I recently almost fell into this trap. I wanted to purchase the Charlotte Tilbury Collagen Lip Bath Gloss because of the pretty heart shaped applicator and gold packaging, however when I read the reviews they were not up to my standards. This is not to say it isn’t a good product, but I know I could find a cheaper one that could work better. 
  5. Focus on your skin: If you are planning to splurge on any makeup products, choose something that will be sitting on your skin- especially foundation. Splurging for a foundation that not only offers great coverage, but also skincare benefits will be worth it in the long run. That is not to say that there aren’t awesome drug store foundations (L’Oréal True Match will always be my one true love), but when it comes to dropping the big bucks on cosmetics, I would definitely reserve it for anything that is sitting on my skin all day. 
photo courtesy of cosmopolitan.com
Final Thoughts

Googling the best dupes for expensive products is a great way to snatch an awesome product at a fraction of the cost. In addition, it might take trial and error. Test out different brands and get to know your go-to’s. 

Dupe examples:
photo courtesy of audreymadstowe.com
photo courtesy of lianadesu.com

I’ll leave you with one last thought.

At the end of the day, do what makes YOU happy. If you feel awesome buying and rocking a luxury skincare or makeup product, then go for it! If you feel great in that amazing drug store mascara, then do you boo! More importantly, do not worry about what anyone else thinks. Don’t purchase something to impress someone or fit in with the hype. Make decisions on your feelings alone and you can’t go wrong. And always remember, you’re gorgeous with or without a $20 or $100 product.

Thanks for taking a dive into the beauty world with me! As always, if you have any topic requests please let me know! Feel free to explore the website, check out my partnerships, and follow my social media pages. Stay beautiful, talk soon…xx

courtesy of thefinancialdiet.com

Featured photo photo courtesy of makeup.com

Author:

Hi! My name is Taylor Pontillo and I am a senior in college. I am a lover of all things makeup, lifestyle, and beauty related and hope I can share a little insight into the beauty world with all of you!

Leave a comment